Books Piper Loves: “A Sinner Born” & “Illumination”

Hey, all. 🙂 So I’m introducing a new thing on the blog today. Even before I was published, I rarely wrote reviews. Now, I don’t know how comfortable I am trying to write up critical reviews of work by my friends and peers. You’ll never find an actual review, a la Jessewave or The Novel Approach, on this blog. But I’ve never had a problem yelling it from the mountaintops when I love a particular book. I like to spread the love, and that being the case, since I’m just as much of a reader as a writer, I’ve decided to post about the books I love, old or new. This won’t necessarily be happening on a regular schedule because of course it’s all dependent on when I come across a book I’m really crazy about, but to kick it off I’ve decided to go with a doubleheader featuring two books I read and loved recently. And without any further ado…

Sinner

First we have A Sinner Born, which is book three in Avril Ashton’s popular Brooklyn Sinners series, the story of Syren and Kane. Syren is a man with many, many secrets. Kane is a man still grieving the death of his partner. And when these two come together, it’s sizzling. As an added bonus, one of the heroes has a panty fetish, which is one of my kinks, so the book really worked for me! For the more sensitive readers out there, there is some difficult subject matter, like self-harm and mentions of rape and child abuse, but I thought those topics were all well-handled. So if you like federal marshals and bad boys with a lot of attitude, I definitely recommend you check this one out!

illum

Secondly, is Rowan Speedwell’s Illumination.

Now, I make no secret of the fact that I think Rowan Speedwell is pretty much the bee’s knees. She’s an awesome person and an awesome writer, and I haven’t read a single thing by her I haven’t loved. Illumination is no exception. You can tell the subject of illuminating books is something Rowan is very familiar with. In fact, she does it herself, and her knowledge of the subject makes itself known in this book and adds such richness that it made me wish I had a halfway decent hand at drawing or painting so I could try it myself. Then there are the characters, Adam and Miles, who are both battling their own demons, but came together so beautifully. I was rooting for them both the whole time, and I loved the book so much that when I saw Rowan at GRL, I bought a copy of the paperback so she could sign it, despite already having the ebook. Rowan knows her stuff and her writing is lovely. Every time I read a book of hers, it’s like a gift. So, of course, this one is highly recommended.  ❤

~*~

And as a disclaimer, some of the books I love will doubtless be by people I know or consider friends, because my friendships with a lot of my fellow authors began when I loved one of their books and contacted them to say just how much. But there will also be books featured by authors who I’ve never really spoken to or maybe only rarely on social media sites. Suffice it to say, I’m trying to keep it unbiased, but when I love a book, I love a book, and I have no problems saying so. Friend, acquaintance, or stranger, it doesn’t matter to me who wrote it. 🙂

About Piper Vaughn

Piper Vaughn wrote her first love story at eleven and never looked back. Since then, she's known that writing in some form was exactly what she wanted to do. A reader at the core, Piper loves nothing more than getting lost in a great book—fantasy, young adult, romance, she loves them all (and has a two-thousand-book library to prove it!). She grew up in Chicago, in an ethnically diverse neighborhood, and loves to put faces and characters of every ethnicity in her stories, so her fictional worlds are as colorful as the real one. Above all, she believes that everyone needs a little true love in their life…even if it's only in a book.

Posted on October 30, 2013, in books I love, piper vaughn, reading and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Oh, thanks SO MUCH for your lovely comments, Piper! I’m so glad you liked my boys. 🙂

Leave a Reply

