Love, Fairy tales, & a Giveaway

Happy New Year, everyone! Today I’m celebrating not only the start of another year but my first release of 2014, a fantasy romance novelette available now from Dreamspinner Press.

Love Rising is, at its core, a fairy tale. A fairy tale by definition is usually a short story involving magic and spells, and typically including folklore creatures, like fairies, mermaids, goblins, dragons, etc. No one can say when exactly people began telling them. Like all other tales in ancient times, they were no doubt passed down orally between generations. They’ve been around in written form for hundreds of years. And way back in the day, fairy tales were written just as much for adults as they were for children. Even today many books for adults are merely reinvented fairy tales, retelling these stories in new and interesting ways. Sometimes modernizing them, sometimes re-writing them in historical settings, sometimes jumping forward into the future. Whatever way they’re retold, I usually love them. I can think of five books I own offhand that are revamps of the traditional Beauty & the Beast tale (my favorite) and multiple others, like Juliet Marillier’s Daughter of the Forestwhich is based on The Six Swans, or in our own genre, Duck!, inspired by The Ugly Duckling, Cinder, which I’m sure you can guess was a retelling of Cinderella, and Scarlet & the White Wolf, based on Little Red Riding Hood. 

My story isn’t a reinterpretation of an established fairy tale, though I am tempted to write a few. Still, it very much fits the common definition of the phrase. We have a folkloric creature (a merman), we have a steadfast human hero (Francis, former indentured servant), and a little bit of magic in a setting that could very well be a real island somewhere in the Caribbean in the 1700s. Love blooms for these two heroes in that compelling, all-consuming fairy tale fashion. But, of course, as is the way with these stories, things don’t go off without a hitch. What would a fairy tale be without some sort of hurdle to overcome? And with Francis stuck on land and Wick at sea, how can they possibly be together forever? Well, you’ll have to check out their story to find that out. And I hope you’ll enjoy the ride. 😉

What are your favorite fairy tales? Comment with yours to be entered for a chance to win a copy of the Love Rising ebook. Or if you don’t have one, tell me one of your resolutions/goals for 2014. 🙂

Contest closes: 1/6/2014 @ 11PM CST.

~*This contest is open to adults age 18 and up. Your comment confirms that you are of legal age.*~

LoveRisingFS - Anne Cain

Blurb:

In the 1700s on the island of Sagrario, men who love other men find safe haven. For Francis Holland, an escaped indentured servant, Sagrario offers nothing but loneliness. His life begins to change when he finds Wick, a merman, washed ashore. 

When Wick awakens under Francis’s care, Francis returns him to the sea at his request. Soon after, they begin to meet in secret, and gradually, Francis blossoms under this new companionship. However, a merman is a difficult creature to entrust one’s heart to. With one trapped on land and the other at sea, the differences in their species threaten to keep them apart forever. It may not be long before Wick is gone, taking Francis’s reason to smile with him.

Too impatient to wait to see if you’ve won the contest? Buy it now!

About Piper Vaughn

Piper Vaughn wrote her first love story at eleven and never looked back. Since then, she's known that writing in some form was exactly what she wanted to do. A reader at the core, Piper loves nothing more than getting lost in a great book—fantasy, young adult, romance, she loves them all (and has a two-thousand-book library to prove it!). She grew up in Chicago, in an ethnically diverse neighborhood, and loves to put faces and characters of every ethnicity in her stories, so her fictional worlds are as colorful as the real one. Above all, she believes that everyone needs a little true love in their life…even if it's only in a book.

Posted on January 1, 2014, in books, dreamspinner press, giveaways, new releases, piper vaughn and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. HAPPY NEW YEAR Piper!
    My NEW YEAR resolution is to (NOT) make a NEW YEAR resolution.I try really hard I really do but I never can follow through.

  2. I was never clear on what made a fairy tale. But since Disney seems to make a lot of movies based on Fairy Tales I would say The Little Mermaid was one of my favorites (mostly because of the music so that really doesn’t have anything to do with story).

  3. My all time favorite fairy tale is Snow White and Rose Red. My New Year’s resolution, which will probably be broken before the day is over, is to post reviews in Goodreads instead of just ratings.

  4. Happy New Year, Piper!

    My favourite fairy tale is Cinderella. When I was a kid, I used to love the Disney movie. We had it on video and I must have watched it a thousand times. Then when I was about ten or so, I watched the Drew Barrymore adaptation ‘Ever After’ which I still absolutely love 🙂

    I haven’t made any New Year’s resolutions, mostly because I never stick to them and end up being disappointed in myself! I’d ideally like to finish some of my WIPs this year, though. I have so many that I started and then left, and a book full of ideas!

  5. Happy New Year, Piper! Loved the Blurb, the idea of men having a safe place in the 1700’s to be able to love and not be punished by it.
    Favorite Fairy Tale? I’m guessing Beauty and the Beast for the fact that Beauty is what one makes of it. I look for beauty inside others instead of the outside, although the outside is what we meet first and yes, we become attracted by it before we know the inside…the heart, the soul and mind.
    Goals? I have to finished novels which I’m editing ATM and will be sending out to be published. I’m hoping to have more than just two by the end of 2014, though.
    Much success to you in 2014!

  6. I would say Beauty and the Beast. In this fairy tale, they actually get to know each other over some time, and there’s self sacrifice etc. I loved fairy tales when I was a kid and love to read spin-offs of them as an adult.

  7. My two favorite fairy tales when I was younger were Cinderella and Beauty and the Beast. I don’t really care too much for fairy tales anymore, I guess because life has jaded me a bit.
    My resolution is not to make resolutions. I never could keep them and I don’t need to put that pressure on myself. 😉

  8. I always love a good Beauty And The Beast story. As I’ve grown I’ve become less fond of Cinderella and Ugly Duckling stories.

  9. I love twists on fairy tales

  10. my NY resolution is to lose wewight and get a job

  11. I love Beauty and the beast stories.

  12. Fairy tale retellings, i think, are my favorite. I have gone to the original Grimm’s fairy tales and have read some of those. Definitely…grim…in a lot of cases. Not your children’s fairy tales. In fact, I have a story I’m writing (most of the way done, maybe I’ll be all of the way done and finally get it published this year) inspired by Grimm’s Cat-Skin fairy tale. 🙂

  13. My favorites are from Hans Christian Andersen. I can’t imagine the world without The Little Mermaid (his version being so sad but beautiful), The Emperor’s New Clothes, and The Ugly Duckling.

    Congratulations on Love Rising’s release, Piper!

  14. Hmmm. Well my favourite fairytale has to be Beauty and the beast. A gorgeous girl with a good heart and strong mind and a reformed bad boy. Rofl. What’s not to love? 😉

    My New Year Resolution is to live in the moment. Live for today, plan for tomorrow and party tonight :).

    I also want to write everyday. No matter how small the words are.

    Final resolution is to dance for at least 30 mins everyday. Fun way to get my exercise for the day :D.

    3 resolutions in all. Hope I can keep them all. *fingerscrossed

  15. I love fairy tales! I think my favorite would be Beauty and the Beast, they start as enemies, become friends, and later fall in love.
    Though I enjoy the Disney version of The Little Mermaid as well. But the original story was just too depressing for me as a child… I read it in a library book and every time I went to the beach after that (I lived on the Florida coast so this was multiple times a week) I would get very upset thinking I was stepping on sea foam Ariel…
    Congrats on your newest release! And what a lovely cover!

  16. My favorite fairy tale has always been Cinderella–the Grimm brothers, not Disney’s version. There’s turmoil and pain, but in the end she gets her guy.

    Congrats on the new book!

Leave a Reply

