Series Piper Loves: “Infected” by Andrea Speed

preyThere are several series in M/M that I really love. That have, in fact, became some of my favorite series in any genre overall. I regularly gush about the “PsyCop” series by Jordan Castillo Price. But another of my all-time faves is the “Infected” series by Andrea Speed. Ah, this series. Let me tell you guys, I’ve cried more over these books than any others. I find myself extremely emotionally affected by them. I’ve cried for, with, and over the main character, Roan. It’s broken my heart and mended it again. It’s made me laugh, it’s made me frustrated. I’ve run the emotional gamut with this series, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I can’t really talk much about this series without spoilers, so in brief, if you’ve never heard of this series, basically what we have is an alternate-universe set here on Earth, in the state of Washington, but in which “infecteds” are openly acknowledged in society. These people have a virus that forces them to change into various felines (depending on which strain they have) overnight a few days a month. They don’t know or remember what they’re doing when they’re shifted into their alternate form. Essentially, they become mindless animals with animal urges. These aren’t the typical shifters you encounter in paranormal books that can still think rationally. They think like the predators they are, and as such, they have to be caged during their monthly time so as not to risk eating their loved ones (or anyone else) as a midnight snack.

Roan is a lion, but he wasn’t infected like most, he was born that way. He’s a virus child, offspring of an infected and a human. Normally virus children don’t survive very long and even if they do, they usually suffer from mental and physical disabilities. Roan, to his knowledge, is the oldest recorded virus child in history, which makes him pretty unique and gives him abilities typical infecteds don’t possess. He used to be a cop but now he’s a private detective, and the books follow his cases as he investigates. These aren’t really romance, though they do contain romantic subplots, and Roan’s relationships are very important to the overall storyline. But they are, first and foremost, mysteries. So if you’re looking for the more traditional romances focused more on sex and the development of the romantic relationship, these might not be for you. In fact, there is no on page sex—at all. Everything, and I mean everything, is “fade to black.” If you need your smut, well, you won’t find it here. But what you will find are interesting mysteries, fabulous writing, and engaging, well-crafted characters you grow to love and root for. In my opinion, that gives this series a lot of things to recommend. 🙂LAD

If you haven’t heard of this series, check it out. The last book comes out sometime this summer, and there will be a prequel and a spin-off series, but this final book will be the end of Roan’s direct storyline (though I’ve been assured by Andrea we’ll still see him around, not to worry).  

The order:

  1. Prey
  2. Bloodlines
  3. Life After Death
  4. Freefall
  5. Shift
  6. Lesser Evils
  7. Undertow

And be sure to visit Andrea’s website, as she puts up flash fics fairly regularly.

About Piper Vaughn

Piper Vaughn wrote her first love story at eleven and never looked back. Since then, she's known that writing in some form was exactly what she wanted to do. A reader at the core, Piper loves nothing more than getting lost in a great book—fantasy, young adult, romance, she loves them all (and has a two-thousand-book library to prove it!). She grew up in Chicago, in an ethnically diverse neighborhood, and loves to put faces and characters of every ethnicity in her stories, so her fictional worlds are as colorful as the real one. Above all, she believes that everyone needs a little true love in their life…even if it's only in a book.

Posted on February 4, 2014, in books I love, series i love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. this Infected series by Andrea Speed, with Roan, Dylan, Holden, and the rest of the guys (and gals) is so wonderful, I cannot stop gushing about it!! My 11 year old now knows Roan and the lion are one & the same, and had actually grown to love listening to me talk about them when I’m reading (rated G of course, lol) 🙂 I love mysteries, and this type of shifter series is one I really enjoy reading!!! It was a very happy accident I actually started reading this series—I started out with the 3rd book, and couldn’t put it down!! I then started back at the beginning, and have been a fan girl ever since 🙂 I am so happy that we’re not going to lose Roan after the summer—I’m so not ready to let go of these rich characters yet!!

    Tame

  2. There really are so many feels with this series. Some scenes I just can’t think about without getting emotional. Love the series, love Andrea! It’s soooo good. Roan and Holden are fucking awesome.

  3. I’m right there with you, Piper! I love this series. And, yep, I’ve cried more in it than any other series I read. I’m sad that Roan’s last book is coming out, but excited to see any spin-off’s!

  4. Thank you, Piper. I really didn’t set out to upset anyone … but Roan wouldn’t be Roan if he didn’t have setbacks to triumph over. 😉

Leave a Reply

