Daily Archives: August 15, 2014

Quick Update: Paperbacks at GRL

Hey, all! By now, I’m sure most of you are aware of the book-selling policy change for GRL. If you’re not, the gist of it is that due to tax laws in Illinois, authors are no longer able to sell books at their individual tables. Any paperbacks available at the retreat, unless given freely, will have to be paid for upon leaving the signing through Anderson’s Booksellers, who usually handle this same sort of thing for the bigger conventions, like Romantic Times. Along with their service comes a 25% consignment fee that they’ll keep from any authors and/or publishers wishing to sell books at the convention. Because of this, I’ve changed my original plans. 

If you’d reserved a paperback on the spreadsheet I’d posted at the end of July, this update is for you. 

-“Ringing True” has been postponed until after GRL. With it being my first self-published paperback and still in-progress, I didn’t want to have to scramble to try to get it done before GRL and sacrifice any quality. Those of you who reserved a copy on my spreadsheet, I will honor the price I would have charged at GRL and ship a signed copy to you for free whenever the book is release. (Exact date TBD.)

-Any of my Dreamspinner titles must be either purchased during GRL or pre-ordered through their website. Use the code provided in this blog post to have the books shipped directly to GRL for free (The code will be valid from now until 9/21 and can be used more than once, if you want to take advantage of any sales between now and then.) You’ll pick them up there and if you want them signed, be sure to swing by my table. (Note: Dreamspinner will be having a pre-order sale from Sept. 17-21, so if you plan to order a few, it might be best to wait until then.)

-Since Less Than Three Press won’t have an official presence at GRL, those are the only paperbacks I will be bringing with me. I’ll be bringing several of the English version and I’ll have a couple of the French paperbacks available as well. If you reserved a copy of “Party Boy” using my spreadsheet, you can pre-order a copy from me now for $10 and I will bring them to GRL, at which point they’ll either be marked with a pre-order sticker (which I’m hoping they’ll have available) or a “free” sticker, just so you can get past the registers without them trying to force you to pay again. Contact me at: piper.vaughn7 (at) gmail (dot) com only if you’d already reserved a copy and wish to pay me for it using Paypal. Otherwise, I’ll have a few extra copies with me on a first come, first served basis. 

Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause! I don’t want to bring extras of my Dreamspinner titles because things will get more complicated for the bookseller and record-keeping if both Dreamspinner and I are trying to sell the same exact titles there, and I’d prefer to keep it simple. 

Thanks, all. ❤ 

