Fabulous Five Blog Hop

Hi, peeps! I was tagged to answer five questions by Charlie Cochet, who is indeed fabulous. Check out her books if you haven’t already! ♥

 

1. What am I working on?

Right now my book, Hook, Line, & Sinker, is in edits. This is a solo spin-off of Wood, Screws, & Nails, which I co-wrote with Kade Boehme. For those who read that book, HL&S is Blake’s story, but they can both be read as standalones.

I’m also working on a Christmas story for Less Than Three Press, which will be available in early December. While I’m doing that, my other active project is temporarily on hold. That one is Ringing True, the second book in the “Wanting” series, which I hope to have out by the end of the year. That book is fully outlined and started already. I’m also tinkering with outlines for a couple of other stories.

 

2. How does my work differ from others in its genre?

I agree with Charlie’s answer to this—every author has their own unique voice and style. With me, people can expect characters with great chemistry, realistic (and hopefully entertaining) dialog, sex scenes that vary from tender to dirty, and the happiest ending I can manage given the characters’ individual situations. I’ve mostly done contemporary up to this point, but I do have historical, fantasy, and paranormal short stories available. I also have plans for a paranormal series in future, but for the most part, most of my work will be contemporary.

 

3. Why do I write what I do?

I’ve answered this question several times in the past. Basically, I’ve been a romance fan since childhood (I think I started reading romances at around 10 or 11), and I always wanted to write love stories. Whatever the pairing, gay or straight, I like giving people their happy endings.

In regards to gay romance specifically, I love to see men fall fast and hard. I love to see a man open up emotionally. And, honestly, I relate to men more than I do to women for various reasons I’d rather not get into in this blog post. Suffice it to say, m/m is my happy place at the moment, and I don’t see that changing anytime soon. 🙂

 

4. How does my writing process work?

Sometimes I thrive under a deadline. Sometimes I prefer to not have that weight on my shoulders. Either way, I usually plot out an outline, either something as simple as a list of one-sentence bullet points or as extensive as individual chapter summaries. There’ve been times I started writing with only a vague idea, but I prefer to plot things out. It focuses me and helps me get to know the characters. Typically, I start working on the characters and develop the plot from there. Right now, with my son having started all-day kindergarten, I plan to use his time at school as my workday so as to leave my evenings free to relax with my family and prevent burnout. I think putting myself on a set schedule will help me work more effectively in future and with writer’s block, which I tend to struggle with.

 

5. Who’s next on the blog hop?

Jayden Brooks, Nico Jaye, Leighton Rose, J.H. Knight, Jenn Simon

About Piper Vaughn

Piper Vaughn wrote her first love story at eleven and never looked back. Since then, she's known that writing in some form was exactly what she wanted to do. A reader at the core, Piper loves nothing more than getting lost in a great book—fantasy, young adult, romance, she loves them all (and has a two-thousand-book library to prove it!). She grew up in Chicago, in an ethnically diverse neighborhood, and loves to put faces and characters of every ethnicity in her stories, so her fictional worlds are as colorful as the real one. Above all, she believes that everyone needs a little true love in their life…even if it's only in a book.

Posted on September 1, 2014, in interviews, piper vaughn and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

