Recipes I’ve Made: Chicken with Creamy Mushroom Sauce

Hey, all! So, those of you who are friends with me on FB have probably heard about the saga with my new oven and how it took a month and a half to get this thing installed because of one issue after another. Well, today Sven finally got installed. Isn’t he shiny?

sven

I had a couple of people ask me to post pics of the meal I made to christen Sven, so here it is. I combined two recipes I found on Pinterest for this yummy and simple dish. 🙂

I liked the sound of the creamy mushroom sauce from this recipe, but since I’m not a huge fan of chicken thighs, I wanted to try it with chicken breasts. This recipe used breasts, so I referred to that one as my go-to for the chicken portion.

Now, the first recipe that I used for the sauce said to make the sauce in a pan while the chicken is baking and then pour it over the chicken once it’s cooked. The second recipe said to pour it over the chicken before putting it in the oven, and I decided to go that route.

It came out delicious, with the chicken juicy and tender, though next time I might increase the sauce by another half. Baking it with chicken that had been coated in flour and then seared meant that the sauce thickened a bit more than it might have otherwise, so we ended up with less of it, which sucks because it was really tasty. So, bear that in mind if you decide to combine recipes like I did.

All in all, I considered it a success, and my hubs gave it two enthusiastic thumbs up. It was a warm, comforting type of meal, and since I’m in the Midwest and stuck in the midst of a brutal winter, sometimes meals like these are perfect on cold nights. And even better, Sven worked without a hitch. Woot!

 

About Piper Vaughn

Piper Vaughn wrote her first love story at eleven and never looked back. Since then, she’s known that writing in some form was exactly what she wanted to do. A reader at the core, Piper loves nothing more than getting lost in a great book—fantasy, young adult, romance, sci-fi, she loves them all! As a bisexual and Latinx person, Piper takes great pride in her heritage. She grew up in an ethnically diverse neighborhood and strives to put faces and characters of every ethnicity in her stories, so her fictional worlds are as colorful as the real one. Above all, she believes that everyone needs a little true love in their life … even if it’s only in a book.

Posted on February 28, 2015, in recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. That looks so yummy! Way to go Sven! (And Piper!)

  2. This looks so good! I want to make it. I just posted a recipe using chicken as well, check it out ! http://huntershealthykitchen.com/2015/02/28/braised-chicken-thighs-with-tomato/
    Hunter

Leave a Reply

