Recipes I’ve Made: Oven Roasted Carrots

Hi, all! I’m sure you noticed from the title of this post that I’m sharing another recipe today. I know what you’re thinking: “Isn’t this a writing blog?” And it is, in part, but mainly it’s about me and sharing little bits and pieces of myself with any readers who might be curious. That might include anything from books to movies to recipes to music.

Those who know me are probably aware I’m a bit of a foodie, even if I’m not what you’d call a natural in the kitchen. I’m also Pinterest obsessed, and from time to time, I find a recipe I really enjoy and I feel inclined to share it. This is one of those times. 😀

So, the other day I picked up a bag of organic, multi-colored carrots from Trader Joe’s. I loved the look of them, but then I found myself with a conundrum. Aside from when I’m making pot roast or baking chicken, I rarely cook with carrots. Yesterday afternoon, I was making meatloaf and I remembered having these in my veggie drawer. Then came the hunt for a recipe to use. I could’ve just thrown something together, but I usually like to have some point of reference the first time I try things. I found this recipe, but I’m not all that crazy about the taste of thyme, so I knew I needed to tweak it a bit. This here is my altered version of the recipe. 😀

 

FullSizeRender (1)

 

1 bunch of carrots (I ended up using six, split in half)

1/2 large onion (more if you’re an onion fan)

2 garlic cloves

4-5 tbsp of chicken broth (or any you like)

1 tbsp olive oil

3 tbsp butter (or, if you want to keep it lighter, skip the butter and just use olive oil or a spray)

Italian seasoning (to taste)

Salt and pepper (to taste)

Wash, peel, and cut carrots in half. Place in casserole dish (I threw mine into a pie dish). Thinly slice garlic and add. Cut onion into half quarters and add. If using, cut butter into cubes and scatter them across the carrots. Drizzle with olive oil, then sprinkle with salt, pepper, and Italian season. Then pour in the chicken broth.

 

FullSizeRender (2)

 

Cover tightly with foil and bake at 350 degrees for about 40 minutes. Remove foil and check doneness. Bake uncovered for an additional 15 minutes.

Enjoy the deliciousness. Om nom nom. Don’t they look pretty? 🙂

 

FullSizeRender (3)

About Piper Vaughn

Piper Vaughn wrote her first love story at eleven and never looked back. Since then, she's known that writing in some form was exactly what she wanted to do. A reader at the core, Piper loves nothing more than getting lost in a great book—fantasy, young adult, romance, she loves them all (and has a two-thousand-book library to prove it!). She grew up in Chicago, in an ethnically diverse neighborhood, and loves to put faces and characters of every ethnicity in her stories, so her fictional worlds are as colorful as the real one. Above all, she believes that everyone needs a little true love in their life…even if it's only in a book.

Posted on April 9, 2015, in recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

