Piper’s Reading Roundup: April

Hey, hey! April was a rather slow reading month for me, given the tight deadline we were working under, but I still managed to squeeze in some good reads. Here are my faves. ♥

The Bohemian and the Banker by Bonnie Dee & Summer Devon – I do so love this author matchup, as I said last month, and this one was fun. We had an opposites attract story featuring a serious banker named Nigel and a bohemian drag cabaret performer named Jay (as you can tell by the title). It’s set in the early 1900s in Paris during a World Fair, which really appealed to me, as I’ve often wished those were still happening on the scale they used to be. Definitely recommended.

Axel’s Pup (Werewolves & Dragons, #1) by Kim Dare – It’s no secret I’m a Kim Dare fan. I’ve read the vast majority of her work and count some of her books as my favorites in the genre. I really enjoyed this one. Loved the world-building and the unique take on shifters and it included all of the things I love from Kim Dare — solid writing, lighter BDSM, and a strong dom who’s besotted with his sub. Bonus was the whole motorcycle club element. Really looking forward to more in this universe.

Healing Hunter’s Heart by Charlie Cochet – Woot! I’d been waiting for this story for years, people. I loved the first book in the series, which is a freebie Charlie wrote for one of the Don’t Read in the Closet events a couple of years back. This one didn’t disappoint. I really liked Hunter and Ari and seeing all the guys again. It had humor and heat and great world-building. Bring on Mischa and Kristoff, I say! 😀

The Harvest: Taken & Journey’s End by MA Church – These books need to be read together for the full story of Keyno and Dale. They were a lot of fun. Aliens that are like warrior kitties, people! Plus, it had an arranged/forced mating, which I’d been craving (note: these aren’t non-con when it comes to the sex, though, even if Dale was forced into a relationship he didn’t initially want). If you’re a fan of alien/human stories and tails playing a kinky role during sex scenes, check these out! I’ve read some of the side stories Church has on her website, but I really hope there’ll be more to come in this universe!

About Piper Vaughn

Piper Vaughn wrote her first love story at eleven and never looked back. Since then, she's known that writing in some form was exactly what she wanted to do. A reader at the core, Piper loves nothing more than getting lost in a great book—fantasy, young adult, romance, she loves them all (and has a two-thousand-book library to prove it!). She grew up in Chicago, in an ethnically diverse neighborhood, and loves to put faces and characters of every ethnicity in her stories, so her fictional worlds are as colorful as the real one. Above all, she believes that everyone needs a little true love in their life…even if it's only in a book.

Posted on May 6, 2015, in books I love, piper vaughn, reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

