Piper’s Reading Roundup: September #books #recommendations #reading

Howdy, y’all! It’s that time again! These are the books I read and loved in September. It was a good reading month! 😀

PRc6NRaY

Bent Arrow by Posy Roberts – This was a thoroughly enjoyable novella. It was sweet and sexy and when I finished reading it, I was smiling. Recommended when you’re in the mood for a quick, engaging read in an interesting setting.

Sloe Ride by Rhys Ford – Well, what can I say about the magnificent Rhys Ford? She has a way with the written word that truly astounds me and fills me with admiration. I love her Sinners series, and I’d been looking forward to this story since I first read about Quinn and the other Morgans. Fabulous, as always.

The King’s Command (Bred For Love #2) by Revella Hawthorne – I loved the first book in this series. I loved this one even more and can’t wait for book three and the conclusion of Edward and Percy’s story. Love these characters! (And, well, I’m a fan of mpreg, so it gets extra points for that too.)

Home and Away by Samantha Wayland – I have so much love for this book, and it’s another one that got added to my favorites list this month. We have a closeted hockey player, a former figure skater, and my beloved jock-meets-nerd type of scenario. Add some UST, a pair of awesomely written kids, and secondary characters I loved, and I had not a single complaint!

Crashing the Net by Samantha Wayland – Alexei and Mike were secondary characters I met in Home and Away, and when I realized they had their own book, I had to jump right on it. This was a lot different than Home and Away, but damn it was hot, and I thoroughly enjoyed these two characters and their chemistry and seeing how their relationship came together.

Betrothed: A Faery Tale by Therese Woodson –  This was different than I expected going in, which isn’t a bad thing at all. It was a cute, sweet romance. I loved the world building and the characters and I’m hoping there’ll be more to come in this world. Bonus points for the cover too, which is fab!

Rattlesnake by Kim Fielding – I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I am an unabashed Kim Fielding fangirl. I have a favorite books list, as every reader does, and several of hers are on it. Rattlesnake was added to that list when I was only halfway through, and when I finished, I recommended this book far and wide. It was a slow-moving, quiet story, a character study, gorgeously written, and one that will stick with me for a long time to come.

What was your favorite read last month? You know I’m always looking for recs!

Happy October, peeps!

About Piper Vaughn

Piper Vaughn wrote her first love story at eleven and never looked back. Since then, she’s known that writing in some form was exactly what she wanted to do. A reader at the core, Piper loves nothing more than getting lost in a great book—fantasy, young adult, romance, sci-fi, she loves them all! As a bisexual and Latinx person, Piper takes great pride in her heritage. She grew up in an ethnically diverse neighborhood and strives to put faces and characters of every ethnicity in her stories, so her fictional worlds are as colorful as the real one. Above all, she believes that everyone needs a little true love in their life … even if it’s only in a book.

Posted on October 4, 2015, in books, books I love, piper vaughn, reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Awww, thanks, babe! ❤

  2. Play On / Playing For Keeps by Avery Cockburn
    Vespertine by Indra Vaughn & Leta Blake
    HIM by Elle Kennedy & Sarina Bowen

    Enjoyed seeing your faves.

  3. Thank you!!!!

  4. RedHeadedBookLover

    This is such an amazing post. I really love your blog so much and in turn cannot stop reading all of your posts!

  5. A few of my favorite reads for September:

    Sloe Ride by Rhys Ford
    Where Wishes Go by S.A. McAuley
    Taking a Chance by A.M. Arthur
    Fame and Fortune by T.M. Smith
    Better Than Safe by Lane Hayes
    Challenge the Darkness by Dirk Greyson

    I could actually add more to this list but I’ll stop here.. I absolutely love being able to have a month where there were so many fantastic reads from new and favorite authors available.

  6. Oh I read Rattlesnake last week and loved it. To be honest I’ve read a lot of stuff that has just been okay lately. Kinda bummed I’m in a slump. A while back though I read the Tom Elkin series by N.R. Walker that was AMAZING! Also, the 3rd book in J.K. Hogan’s Seattle series, Unbreak Broken. I loved each one but the 3rd was definitely my favorite.

  7. Well, I loved Rattlesnake as well. It is one of my favorites of Kim Fielding. I don’t have many to recommend though, my stand-out books in September is not MM romance. But here are few MMs that I thought were good

    “Lovers and Fighters” by Nash Summers
    “The Downs” by Kim Fielding (from Don’t Read in the Closet)
    “Restless Spirits” and “Dangerous Spirits” by Jordan L. Hawk

  8. Rattlesnake!!! Such a GREAT book! Tied for 1st place as my 2015 favorite with Kick at the Darkness by Keira Andrews.

    My favorites:
    Let the Wrong Light in by Avan Gale (kinky and delightful!)
    Signs of Life by Melanie Hansen (Lots of angst, but the payout is worth it)
    Love You More by Sienna Bishop (FTLs and MY PROMPT for DRiTC 2015)
    Fit to be Tied by Mary Calmes (#2 in the Marshalls series – LOVED!)
    The Last Nights of The Frangipani Hotel by Bey Deckard (heartfelt and hot!)
    Lovers & Fighters by Nash Summers (just plain beautiful!)
    Put a Ring on It by K.A, Mitchell (Um, it’s K.A. Mitchell, duh!)

Leave a Reply

